World History

Netherlands Antilles | History, Capital, Language, Flag, Facts

History of Netherlands Antilles:

The Netherlands Antilles is a Caribbean country that was part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. In the Netherlands Antilles he had two main island groups. One of them was Aruba, Curacao and Bonaire. Another had St. Eustatius, Saba, and St. Marten.

In 1986 Aruba separated and became an independent country, but was still part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The remaining Netherlands Antilles disappeared in 2010. Curacao became a province and Saint Martin also became a province.

Information about Netherlands Antilles:

Capital Willemstad (on Curacao)
Population 27,165 (Source: 2023 worldometer)
Major Cities
Neighbors Dominican Republic and Puerto Rico to the north, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Montserrat, Guadeloupe, Dominica, Martinique and Saint Lucia to the northeast, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Grenada to the east and Venezuela to the south.
Gross Domestic Product (GDP) $991,115,000,000 (2022 worldometer)
Currency Netherlands Antillean guilder (ANG)

Flag of Netherlands Antilles:

Netherlands Antilles Economy Key Industries:

Netherlands Antilles Major Industries: tourism (Curacao, Sint Maarten, and Bonaire), petroleum refining (Curacao), petroleum transshipment facilities (Curacao and Bonaire), light manufacturing (Curacao)

Netherlands Antilles Agricultural Products: aloes, sorghum, peanuts, vegetables, tropical fruit

Netherlands Antilles Natural Resources: phosphates (Curacao only), salt (Bonaire only)

Netherlands Antilles Major Exports: petroleum products

Netherlands Antilles Major Imports: crude petroleum, food, manufactures

The Geography of Netherlands Antilles:

Total Size of Netherlands Antilles: 960 km2

Geographical Low Point of Netherlands Antilles: Caribbean Sea 0 m

Geographical High Point of Netherlands Antilles: Mount Scenery 862 m

Climate of Netherlands Antilles: Tropical; ameliorated by northeast trade winds

General Terrain of Netherlands Antilles: generally hilly, volcanic interiors

World Region or Continent of Netherlands Antilles:  Central America

Geographical Coordinates: 12 15 N, 68 45 W

The People of Netherlands Antilles & Culture

Netherlands Antilles Government Type: parliamentary

Netherlands Antilles Nationality: Dutch Antillean(s)

Netherlands Antilles National Holiday: Queen’s Day (Birthday of Queen-Mother JULIANA in 1909 and accession to the throne of her oldest daughter BEATRIX in 1980), 30 April

Netherlands Antilles Independence: none (part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands)

Netherlands Antilles National Symbol:

Netherlands Antilles National Anthem or Song:

Netherlands Antilles Languages Spoken: Papiamento 65.4% (a Spanish-Portuguese-Dutch-English dialect), English 15.9% (widely spoken), Dutch 7.3% (official), Spanish 6.1%, Creole 1.6%, other 1.9%, unspecified 1.8% (2001 census)

Netherlands Antilles Religions: Roman Catholic 72%, Pentecostal 4.9%, Protestant 3.5%, Seventh-Day Adventist 3.1%, Methodist 2.9%, Jehovah’s Witnesses 1.7%, other Christian 4.2%, Jewish 1.3%, other or unspecified 1.2%, none 5.2% (2001 census)

Interesting Facts about Netherlands Antilles:

The Netherlands Antilles is a group of several Caribbean islands that were once part of the Netherlands.

In 2010, the Netherlands Antilles was dissolved as a state, and Aruba, Curacao and Bonaire all became independent states.

Its nearest neighbors are the Dominican Republic and Puerto Rico to the north, the British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Montserrat, Guadeloupe, Dominica, Martinique, Saint Lucia to the northeast, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Grenada to the east, and Venezuela. South.

The terrain of the islands is generally hilly, and the interior is made up of volcanoes, which is really beautiful.
The Netherlands Antilles has a total area of ​​309 square miles (800 square kilometers), which is more than three times the size of the UK’s largest city, Birmingham.

In 2010, the population of the Netherlands Antilles was 228,693. This is less than her quarter of Birmingham’s population.

The inhabitants here were known as the Dutch Antilles. The capital was Willemstad. With a population of 150,000 in 2013, the city center was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The climate of the Netherlands Antilles is tropical, tempered by northeast trade winds.

The official languages ​​of the Netherlands Antilles were Dutch and English.

The Dutch Antillean Guilder and the US dollar were the official currencies here.

Peanuts, vegetables, tropical fruits and sorghum were grown in the Netherlands Antilles.

Industry consisted of tourism, oil refining, oil transshipment, and light industry. Major exports include petroleum products.