World History

Maya Civilization Timeline | Pre-classic Period, Classic Period, & Post-classic Period.

Maya Civilization:

Located in the tropical lowlands of what is now Guatemala, the Maya Empire reached its peak of power and influence around the 6th century AD. The Maya excelled in agriculture, pottery, writing, calendars and mathematics, and left behind a staggering number of impressive monuments. architecture and iconic works of art.

However, most of the Maya’s great stone cities were abandoned around 900 AD, and scholars have debated the causes of their dramatic decline since his 19th century.

The Maya civilization timeline is just divided into three main periods: Preclassic, Classical, and Postclassic.

Preclassic Period (2000 BC to 250 AD)

The Preclassic period lasts from the beginning of the Maya civilization to 250 AD, when the Maya civilization reached its Golden Age. A great development took place during this period. The largest cities of this period were El Mirador and Canaljuyu.

2000 BC – Farming villages begin to form throughout the Mayan region. 1500 BC – The Olmec civilization develops and the Mayans inherit much of their culture.
1000 BC – The Maya begin to establish large settlements in places such as Copan and Chalchuapa.
700 BC – The first development of the Maya script begins.
600 BC – A large building is built in the city of El Mirador.
600 BC – Maya start farming. As a result, their society can support a larger population and cities begin to grow.
600 BC – Settlement of Tikal established. This makes it one of the largest cities of the Mayan civilization. It peaks during the Classic period.
400 BC – The first Mayan calendar was carved in stone. 300 BC – The Maya adopted the idea of ​​a monarchy in government. They are now ruled by a king.
100 BC – The city-state of Teotihuacan is founded in the valley of Mexico. It has been influencing Mayan culture for many years.
100 BC – The first pyramids are built.

Classic Period (250 AD to 900 AD)

The Classical period is considered the golden age of the Maya city-states. Most of the Mayan civilization’s artistic and cultural achievements occurred during this period.

AD 400 – The city-state of Teotihuacan becomes the dominant city and dominates the Mayan Highlands.
560 AD – The city-state of Tikal is defeated by an alliance of other city-states.
600 AD – The mighty city-state of Teotihuacan is in decline and is no longer the center of culture. 600 AD – The city-state of Karakol becomes a major power in the country.
900 AD – Teotihuacan is abandoned as the cities of the Southern Lowlands collapse. The reason for the collapse of the classical Mayan period remains a mystery to archaeologists. This marks the end of the Classical period.

Postclassic period (900-1500 AD)

The city-states of the south collapsed, but the Maya cities of the northern Yucatan Peninsula continued to thrive for hundreds of years during the Postclassic period.

925 AD – The city-state of Chichen Itza becomes the most powerful city-state in the region. It will reign for the next 200 years.
1250 AD – After years of decline, Chichen Itza was abandoned.
1283 AD – The city-state of Mayapan becomes the capital of Mayan civilization. The Mayapan Federation was formed to govern the region.
1441 AD – People revolt against Mayapan rule. This city was abandoned at the end of his fifteenth century.
1517 A.D. – The arrival of the Spanish conquistador Hernández de Córdoba marks the end of the Postclassic.

Colonial period (1500 AD)

1519 AD – Hernan Cortes arrives and explores the Yucatan Peninsula.
1541 AD – Many of the Mayan city-states are conquered by the Spanish. 1542 AD – The Spanish discover the city of Merida.
1695 AD – The ruins of Tikal are discovered by a Spanish priest lost in the jungle.