Indian Army Regiments, Army Regiments History, Regiments List

The Indian Army Regiments is split into Artillery, Armoured, Infantry Regiments and NCC based on the division of troops within the Arms section of the military. The corps and top Indian Army Regiments of Services, can, however, not been taken into consideration during this article.

Indian Army Regiment History:

By the end of the nineteenth century, recruitment was confined to certain social categories and communities principally those within the northern border areas and Punjab. The majority of the rebels within the Bengal Best Regiments in Indian Army came from the Indo-Gangetic Plain whereas those who had remained loyal were largely from Punjab.

Roberts believed that the foremost martial races were located in northwestern India. He regarded Bengalis, Marathas, and southern ethnic groups as lacking in martial virtues. For example, once the Bengal Army was reestablished in 1885, its new units were drawn from Punjab.

In 1892 army policy was changed significantly. The procedures conjointly perpetuated regional and communal ties and created a military that wasn’t nationally based.

Low-caste teams sought-after ”kshatriya-ization” within the British colonial period, whereby they emulated native martial traditions of higher-caste Kshatriya (or warrior) teams and adopted pseudo-rational (orientalist) criteria (such as martial-race ideology) on the premise of their military achievements so as to increase their social status.

Indian Army Regiments List:

Indian Army Artillery Regiment:
The second-largest arm of the Indian Army Regiments is Artillery Regiment and contains nearly sixth of its total strength, with the units being organized on a corps and divisional basis. Earlier, Artillery was classed as a combat support arm, but now, it’s classed as a combat arm with priorities shifting between mission and counter bombardment.

Its main task is to dominate the battleground with vast firepower so the enemy will neither interfere with the operations nor develop their own effectively. the most important Artillery centre is based at Nashik in Maharashtra. The Regiments in the Indian Army has celebrated its a hundred and seventy-fifth anniversary in 2002.


Indian Army Armoured Regiment:

There are around ninety-three fields of the armoured regiments within the army. From the sixty-fifth Armoured Regiment onwards, the terms ‘Cavalry’ and ‘Lancer’ were distributed. Most of the Indian Army Regiments have independent reconnaissance squadrons that contain tanks or armoured cars, army unit and heavy mortars.

They function reconnaissance units for armoured divisions independent armoured brigades and different formations. These contain President’s Bodyguards, first skinned Horse, second Lancers, fourth Hodson’s Horse, seventh Cavalry, and twenty-first Central India Horse and so on.

Indian Army Infantry Regiments:

The infantry regiment is the largest component of the infantry division. It’s a military organization, not a field formation. Its tactical actions and movements are coordinated with those of different divisions. The infantry regiments engage and destroy the enemy in shut combat throughout the assault or hold its position throughout the defence.

The famous infantry regiments include:

Gorkha Rifles
Garhwal Rifles
Brigade of the Guards
Rajput Regiment
Jat Regiment
Punjab Regiment
Madras Regiment
Bihar Regiment
Parachute Regiment
Maratha Light Infantry
Rajputana Rifles
Sikh Regiment and so on


National Cadet Corps:

The NCC was established in 1948. It strives to provide the youth of the country opportunities for all-round development with a way of commitment, dedication, self-discipline and moral values, so they become helpful citizens. The motto of NCC is ‘Unity and Discipline’.

The NCC has 3 wings- Army Wing, naval Wing and Air Wing. It conjointly has 3 divisions. These contain Senior Division, Junior Division and ladies Division.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *