Indian Army Commands, Army Commands List

It is the land-based branch of the Indian defense force. Indian Army Commands is one of the most important standing armies within the world. Indian Army follows a regimental system however has been divided into seven commands for operational and geographical reasons. During an army unit system, the regiments are responsible for the achievement and coaching of the personnel.

The following compilation for Defence General Knowledge is helpful for aspirants of SSB, NDA, CDS, and alternative such examinations. The questions about the Indian Army Commands are asked in numerous examinations as well as UPSC. Since this can be relating to our country’s defense each Indian ought to have the basic information concerning the subsequent commands of the Indian Army. Here we’ve compiled the number of commands of the Indian Army for quick revision.

Here are some quick facts Concerning Indian Army:

The Army Day is celebrated on fifteen January each year. It’s the day when Field Marshall K. M. Carriapah took office as 1st Indian Commanding-in-Chief of the army after Independence. The motto of the Indian army is “One for all and all for one“. The commander in chief of all defense force of the country is the President of India. The Defence Ministry is responsible for the administrative functions relating to the armed forces of the country.

Indian Army Commands:

There is a total of seven commands of the Indian Army, one amongst them is the coaching command and 6 are operational commands. Each of those commands has a direct affiliation to the New Delhi Army Headquarter. Each of those commands is headed by a Commanding- in- Chief general officer holding the rank of lieutenant general. The employees of those command headquarters are headed by the Chief of employees (COS) with the rank of a lieutenant general.

7 Tactical Commands of Indian Army:

Sr.No Command HQs
1. Western Command Chandimandir
2. Eastern Command Kolkata
3. Northern Command Udhampur
4. Southern Command Pune
5. Central Command Lucknow
6. Army Training Command Shimla
7. South-Western Command Jaipur

Northern Command: It’s headquartered at Udhampur in the state of Jammu.
Western Command: It’s headquartered at Chandimandir in Haryana.
Southern Western Command: It’s headquartered at Jaipur, the capital of Rajasthan. Many would assume, based on the logic that Jaipur is the NORTH western command however it’s the SOUTHWESTERN Command. Do note of this.
Central Command: It’s headquartered at Lucknow in Uttar Pradesh. (Prior to this Lucknow was the headquarters of the Eastern Command, that was shifted to Calcutta after China war).
Southern Command: It’s headquartered at Pune in Maharashtra.
Eastern Command: It’s headquartered at Kolkata in West Bengal.
Training Command (ATRAC): It’s headquartered at Shimla in Himachal Pradesh.
The readers are expected to remember the given compilation for the revision before facing any crucial national level examination. If you wish us to feature any more info to this article, please feel free to say that in the comment section below. Keep visiting the site as we update new content regularly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *