Discover the New 7 Wonders of the World

Important Points

Since the majority of the ancient wonders were destroyed, the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World were replaced by the New Seven Wonders of the World.

Western Hemisphere constructions, like Machu Picchu in Peru, could now be included in the list of the New Seven Wonders of the World.

With millions of tourists visiting each year, the New Seven Wonders continue to be the most popular tourist destinations.

Summary of the New Seven Wonders

The New7Wonders Foundation established a project in 2000 to choose which man-made constructions would take the place of the previous Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. After all, the Great Pyramid of Giza was the sole historical marvel left intact. More than 100 million individuals cast votes in 2007 to determine which man-made objects will be included in the New Seven Wonders of the World. The modern seven wonders of the world opened up new possibilities for the adoption of structures in locations like South America and China, whereas the majority of the ancient global wonders were located in nations like Egypt and Turkey.


Petra is a historic city in Jordan, despite being regarded as a modern wonder. Jordan is a country in the Middle East that is bordered by Saudi Arabia, Iraq, and Syria. The Greek word “petra,” which meaning “rock,” is where the name “Petra” originates. The Nabataean ethnic group chiseled the city’s buildings and structures into the sandstone that flanks the valley in which it is located.

The Nabataeans ruled over the ancient city, which functioned as their capital. Petra was also a major hub for the spice trade, and its population was estimated to have been between 10,000 and 30,000 people. Petra’s distinct architectural style and rich cultural heritage led to its inclusion on the list of the world’s new seven wonders. Petra is one of the most visited tourist destinations in the area, drawing hundreds of thousands of people year because to its breathtaking architecture.

Machu Picchu

Situated around 50 miles northwest of Cuzco, in the Peruvian Andes Mountains, is the ancient city of Machu Picchu. Ancient ruins from the Inca Empire can be found at the location. According to some, Machu Picchu was found by Europeans as early as the 1860s. Others counter that Yale University professor Hiram Bingham discovered the ruins in 1911. In 1915, Bingham oversaw the excavation of Machu Picchu; in the 1930s and 1940s, several archaeologists spearheading fresh digs succeeded him.

Based on archeological discoveries, Machu Picchu was built sometime in the middle of the fifteenth or sixteenth century. Many have conjectured as to the reason behind Machu Picchu. While some claim that Machu Picchu was an oasis for a group known as the Virgins of the Sun, others assert that the location was the residence of an Incan emperor. Most people do, however, concur that Machu Picchu was originally a retreat for the Inca Empire’s aristocracy and super-wealthy.


Rome, Italy’s enormous arena and amphitheater is known as the Roman Colosseum. Being a free-standing building, the Colosseum’s architecture is very striking. The majority of amphitheaters built in antiquity were supported by hillsides. But the Colosseum, which could hold about 50,000 people, was an amazing achievement—it stood alone.

The Colosseum hosted a variety of activities, such as gladiator bouts and human-animal conflicts. Given that Christians were frequently persecuted by the Roman Empire, a common belief is that Christians were executed inside the Colosseum for entertainment purposes. Experts disagree as to whether the killing of Christians actually happened inside the Colosseum. Still, during the height of the Roman Empire, a number of exciting and terrifying events took place at this magnificent building. Even in light of contemporary construction, the Colosseum is nevertheless a striking reminder of Roman ingenuity and culture.

China’s Great Wall

The Great Wall of China is a vast wall that spans 13,171 miles and runs from Jiayuguan in Gansu province to Shanhaiguan in Hebei province. The state of Chu started building the wall in the seventh century B.C. as a defensive measure. The wall was not constructed constantly or swiftly. Instead, the Great Wall of China was constructed over the course of more than 2,000 years, with various parts built apart from one another.

The Great Wall of China also has a number of other fortifications, such as barracks and watchtowers. Since the wall’s primary function was defense, some fortifications were required to sustain military men. The Great Wall of China is deserving of its title as a new wonder of the world because it is still one of the biggest building undertakings ever accomplished by humans. Finally, the Great Wall of China welcomes around 10 million visitors annually.

The Taj Mahal

The Taj Mahal, a colossal mausoleum constructed by Emperor Shah Jahān in the 17th century, is situated in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh, specifically in the city of Agra. The building was dedicated by Jahān to his late wife Mumtaz Mahal, who passed away during childbirth. The Taj Mahal was built between 1638 and 1639, with construction starting in 1632 and ending in 1639. However, construction of the Taj Mahal was delayed until about 1654 due to embellishments and other elements.

To finish the mausoleum, more than 20,000 laborers from all over the Eastern world toiled on the Taj Mahal. In addition, the Taj Mahal’s construction used white marble, which gives it a distinctive and exquisite aspect. The mausoleum’s attractiveness was enhanced by the modest reflecting pool placed in front of it. Presently, the Taj Mahal is one of the most popular tourist destinations, drawing between seven and eight million tourists annually.

Christ the Redeemer

A 98-foot-tall statue of Jesus Christ in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, is known as Christ the Redeemer. The statue stands stoically atop Mount Corcovado, gazing down upon the city with its 92-foot-long arms spread. Four years after the foundation for the monument was set in 1922, work on Christ the Redeemer started. In 1931, the sculpture was formally finished and dedicated.

Moreover, Christ the Redeemer has undergone a number of restorations. To start with, the statue underwent cleaning and repairs in 1980 and 2010. In 2002, the 200 steps leading up to Christ the Redeemer proved too much for some tourists, so escalators and elevators made it easier for people to see the statue. Lastly, Christ the Redeemer receives over two million visits annually, with more people flocking to the monument on typical Christian holidays like Easter.

Chichén Itzá

Ancient Mayan ruins can be seen at Chichén Itzá. The city is located in the Mexican state of Yucatán and has a total area of around four square miles. An estimated 35,000 people used to reside in Chichén Itzá, according to scholars. Furthermore, the city was probably founded by the Mayans in the sixth century A.D. The Itzá tribe, who arrived in Chichén after its foundation, is the source of the term “Itzá.”

El Castillo, or “the castle,” is arguably the most intriguing building at Chichén Itzá. El Castillo is a large pyramid with a height of 79–98 feet. El Castillo has an intriguing feature: it has 365 steps, which correspond to the 365 days in a year. The Temple of Warriors and a ball court are two more attractions at Chichén Itzá. Presently, Chichén Itzá welcomes almost two million tourists annually.

Do Other Wonders of the World Exist?

Together with man-made structures, the New7Wonders Foundation acknowledges the marvel of natural beauty as one of the New Seven Wonders of Nature. The New Seven Wonders of Nature were chosen with the help of over 500 million votes. A few examples of natural wonders are Komodo Island, Table Mountain in South Africa, and Ha Long Bay in Vietnam.